Division of IoK into territories: Valley wears deserted look as trading activities suspended


SRINAGAR: In a protest against division of the occupied Jammu and Kashmir state into two union territories by Indian government, shops and offices are closed in the valley here on Thursday.

India had formally divided the Jammu and Kashmir state into two new union territories directly controlled by New Delhi here earlier in the day.

After the division, now Jammu and Kashmir is one union territory while Ladakh is other.

In India, union territories enjoy less sovereignty than the states from the centre.

Meanwhile, the people of occupied Kashmir are without pre-paid mobile services on 88th consecutive day here on Thursday.