Sarmad Ali elected APNS President during annual meeting of general council

Annual Meeting of General Council of All Pakistan Newspapers Society, Sarmad Ali elected President

KARACHI: The annual meeting of the General Council of All Pakistan Newspapers Society was held under the chairmanship of General Sarmad Ali at APNS House Karachi in which the report of the Executive Committee for the year 2021-22 and the report of the annual accounts for the year 2021 were unanimously approved.

Also Read:

We know that Punjab Assembly will be dissolved: Hamza Shehbaz

Usman Buzdar has prepared summary to dissolve Punjab Assembly: sources

In the meeting, Sarmad Ali President, Jamil Ather Qazi Senior Vice President, Shahab Zuberi Vice President, Ms. Nazafreen Saigol Lakhani Secretary-General, Mohsin Bilal Joint Secretary, and Muhammad Awais Khushnood were elected Finance Secretary. The General Council was attended by 151 members from across the country.

The General Council constituted an Election Commission comprising Dr. Waqar Yousuf Azeemi, Nasir Daad Baloch, and Safdar Ali Khan. The Election Commission held elections for the Executive Committee for the year 2022-23, in which various newspapers and magazines were elected unopposed.

Unopposed Selected Newspapers to include Daily Aghaz, Daily Business Recorder, Daily Deynat, Daily Dawn, Daily Jasarat, Daily Jiddat (Khi), Daily Abtak, Daily Dunya, Daily Jang, Daily Khabrain, Daily Pakistan, Daily Tijarat, Nawa-i-Waqt, Daily Ausaf, Daily Sahafat, Daily Awam (Quetta), Daily Mashriq (Quetta), Daily Mashriq (Peshawar), Daily Wahdat, Daily Kawish, Daily Kaleem Daily Aftab (Multan), Daily Paigham, Daily Business Report, Daily City 42, Daily Pakistan Observer, Daily Halchal and Daily Sayadat. Monthly Dastak, Monthly Naey Ufaq, Monthly Centerline, Fortnightly Ibrat Magazine, and Weekly Nikhar.

President Sarmad Ali nominated Ms. Rameeza Majid Nizami, MD, Nawa-e-Waqt Group, as the Special Representative of the APNS for affairs with the Federal Government in Islamabad, The working committee unanimously nominated Mrs. Zahida Abbasi of Daily Nau Sijj Karachi for the seat of women publishers and Naya Rukh for the seat of the magazine.

The newly elected executive committee praised the performance of the Election Commission. The members unanimously appreciated the efforts of Mr. Hameed Haroon for reconciliation in the ranks of the newspaper industry and expressed their full confidence in his efforts.

The General Council strongly condemned the Federal Government’s use of advertisements as a weapon to suppress dissent and urged the Federal Government to lift the ban on advertisements for certain newspapers. The General Council also noted that The federal government has banned the publication of advertisements in regional newspapers and magazines.

The meeting demanded that the regional quota in the issuance of advertisements of the federal government should be enforced in its spirit and advertisements for magazines should be restored, earlier, the Extraordinary General Council of the Society held a meeting in the morning and passed a resolution approving amendments to Article One and Article Eight of the APNS Constitution. The Annual General Meeting elected Dr. Waqar Yousuf Azeemi and Riaz Ahmed Mansoori as Emeritus Members in recognition of their 40 years of service.