PDM receives nominations papers for Senate chairman, deputy chairman


ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) has received nomination papers for the Chairman and Deputy Chairman Senate.

The PDM has fielded Yousuf Raza Gilani for chairman of the Senate and Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri for deputy chairman, while three sets of papers have been secured for both the posts.

Papers for chairman and deputy were received by PPP leaders Sherry Rehman, Farooq Naik, JUI’s Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and Maulana Atta-ur-Rehman.

Opposition members also obtained a sample of ballot papers from the Senate Secretary.

According to the Secretary Senate, the green ballot paper is for the Chairman Senate and the pink ballot paper is for the Deputy Chairman.

It should be noted that the election for the chairman and deputy chairman of the senate will be held tomorrow in which there is a close contest between the government and the opposition. The government has re-nominated Sadiq Sanjrani for the chairmanship of the senate.