Yousuf Raza Gilani wins general seat in Senate election


Islamabad: PDM candidate Yousuf Raza Gilani has won the general seat in the Senate elections.

According to the Returning Officer, 340 votes were cast out of which Yousuf Raza Gilani got 169 votes while Hafeez Sheikh got 164 votes. Thus Yousuf Raza Gilani defeated Hafeez Sheikh by five votes and was elected Senator from Islamabad.

According to the returning officer, 7 votes were rejected.

Voting took place in the National Assembly on the general seat of Islamabad in which the opposition candidate former Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani was declared the winner.

A recount was conducted by the government, but Yousuf Raza Gilani was also successful in the recount.

The women’s seat from Islamabad was contested between PML-N’s Farzana Kausar and PTI’s Fauzia Arshad. In this contest, Fauzia Arshad of PTI got 174 votes and was elected Senator.