New Delhi issues new maps: Pakistan rejects inclusion of AJK, GB areas into India


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan on Sunday strongly rejected the India’s latest political maps being issued yesterday (Saturday) which show areas of Azad Jammu and Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan as part of India’s recently announced union territory of Ladakh.

On Saturday, India’s Union Ministry of Home Affairs had issued a notification showing the boundaries of its recently carved out two union territories – occupied Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, according to an Indian media report.

The Foreign Office said that the India’s new political map was contrary to that of the United Nations.

Last month, after a military curfew and communications blackout since Aug 5, the Indian government had formally divided the Jammu and Kashmir state into two new union territories directly controlled by New Delhi.

After the division, now Jammu and Kashmir is one union territory while Ladakh is other.

In India, union territories enjoy less sovereignty than the states from the centre.