PML-N’s Shehbaz Sharif likely to quit or lose PAC chairmanship


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Thursday nominated Rana Tanveer as Shehbaz Sharif’s replacement as Public Accounts Committee chairman, sources said.

According to a local TV quoting sources, Khawaja Asif has been nominated as parliamentary leader. Asif was nominated parliamentary leader by former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

“Khawaja Asif was made parliamentary leader on the request of Shehbaz Sharif,” Abbasi said.

Last year, Sharif was elected chairman of the parliamentary watchdog unopposed after the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf government conceded the chairmanship to the PML-N leader.

The PML-N meeting was presided by Raja Zafar-ul-Haq and Asif and was attended by Abbasi, Tanveer, Khurram Dastagir, Mushahid Hussain and other members.